War on drugs a failure, to nobody’s surprise

Global war on drugs has failed, say former leaders

I don’t really think that we needed a 24 page report from the The Global Commission on Drug Policy to tell us that the ‘war on drugs’ has failed. Oh, excuse me, that’s the ‘global war on drugs.’ Could it have been the 34,000 people killed by drug violence in Mexico since 2006 that made them come to this conclusion? Maybe we need to have a war on stupid politicians and stupid ex-heads of state who still think they are smarter than the rest of us and believe that what they have to say about the ‘war on drugs’ is more important than what the rest of have known for years. The Commission’s report is like the 1978 Johnny Mathis, Deniece Williams hit song, “Too much, too little, too late.” The guys and gals that I worked with in narcotics doing ‘buy and bust’ on the Lower East Side back in the 80’s knew back then that the war had been lost. And I’m sure that the cops in major cities across America know the same. But you know what? No one ever asks us for our opinions on this ‘war on drugs’. Who is a better judge of whether or not the ‘war on drugs’ is effective than the men and women on the front lines whose job it is to fight this war? Or the decent people who reside in these drug-infested communities and are trapped there, preyed upon every day by the dealers and users and occasionally becoming collateral damage of the police in this ‘war on drugs’? Or how about the families whose loved ones become addicted to this poison that others want to legalize? They too, with their loved ones, battle the addiction. Or maybe we should just ask former UN Secretary General Kofi Annan for his expert opinion. Oh wait, that one they already did.

A note to my devoted readers (haha), my beautiful wife and I will be spending the rest of the week in sunny Curacao (sans the little one) and I may or may not post from there depending on how obscene the price of internet is. I promise to have a cold beer for each one of my six subscribers.

Speaking of “sans”, I was interviewed the other day for a piece on France 2 TV about special victims and the Dominique Strauss-Kahn story. It is supposed to air today, although I’m not sure what time. I’ve been promised a clip, though, which I’ll post when available.

3 responses to “War on drugs a failure, to nobody’s surprise

  1. Donna Cherwinski

    Have a great time. I hope you two really enjoy your vacation. Do post if you can though, Eddie.

  2. Amen! And have a good time.

    (Make mine a Smirnoff Ice, please!)

  3. Steve Adragna

    I’ve got mixed feelings about the “war on drugs”, but if you walk down the streets we used to hit hard doing B+B you won’t recognize a lot of them. The neighborhoods are thriving. Maybe only a small victory, but one that makes me fee; we did make a difference.

Leave a Reply

